Call Me Al

January 20, 2005

I found the most remarkable thing yesterday. An old copy of The Well Tempered Clavier, Book 2.

Might sound like a rather boring thing to be excited about but I’ve never owned a copy of it. It would have been sweeter if I could have bought both books but this was the only one they had. But they let me have some Haydn Sonatas instead, so it wasn’t all bad though I think I should have gone for the Beethoven Sonatas.

Went for the quiz last night and left early when I realized that I was no longer part of the group. Got a call from a friend sometime after the sixth round which I had to go outside to answer as the pub was too noisy and felt an enormous sense of relief the second I stepped out the door. So I just kept on walking and was in a cab and home in five minutes. Not quite sure why I was so pissed off with the group. I suppose it has to do with the fact I was almost completely ignored as I got there and then the absolute first thing anyone asked me was not ‘How’ve you been?’ or ‘How was your day?’, but more along the lines of ‘I’ve got a computer problem! Your going to help me, right?’. Exactly what I needed at the end of my day. Just wish I’d not gone at all. Will not make that mistake again. But at least I managed to get home and listen to Gould playing The Well Tempered Clavier, while I followed along with my newly purchased score.

Currently going through some numbers to figure out how I’m going to pay for my new apartment. Things may be looking good provided I can work out a slight reduction in my monthly rent. If that goes to plan I can work out a decent loan to cover the security bond and buy myself some essential furniture (which may or may not include a wireless router and a spiffy ADSL connection… sshh…..). The apartment I’ve found is a little on the pricey side and just at the limits of affordability for me as it is unfurnished. It’s a three bedroom apartment on the second and third floors of a house. The room on the third floor I plan to convert into a study and, if I can actually get it up the second flight of stairs, a piano room as well. The second bedroom will be converted into a laundry slash gym slash anything-else I-can-think-of-that-seemed-like-good-idea-at-the-time room. The master bedroom is actually quite nice with large bay windows and a small balcony. The whole apartment is a little rough around the edges and needs a lot of work, but it does have potential. The kitchen is barely functional, but with some planning I’ll be back in the amateur chef business before too long.

Seems like an awfully big place for just one person, but I need my solitude. Being cooped up in an office all day full of people does take its toll on me.

Maybe I’ll get a cat.

Leave a Reply

