My First Rant

December 31, 2003

Well, it’s the end of another year, and I’m sure Nostradamus is spinning in his grave. Or at least mildly oscillating. I’m back on my feet after a long and sadistically amusing bout of the flu (yes, even psychotic megalomaniacs get booboos), though according to my doctor I got two varieties of the flu at the same time with secondary infections. I blame the cat. I spent my Christmas this year delirious in bed, coughing up phlegm in all the colors of the rainbow (Not entirely true; I didn’t see orange or purple. But way too much green (and surprisingly) pink), and developed a cough so bad that my ribs feel like they’ve been tenderized with a baseball bat. But at least I’m almost back to normal, though about fifteen pounds lighter (Less time on the treadmill, Woohoo!) and have regained the use of most of my (considerable 😉 ) store of I.Q. points. It’s wonderful to be able to think again.

On a happy note, I’ve quit smoking (again) and have been nicotine free for ten days. While this is about the fifteenth time I’ve quit in my life I seem to have worked up a healthy revulsion towards the habit and feel that I’ll be able to beat my previous nicotine-free record of seven months and five days by a mile (in as far as any comparison between such disparate metrics is possible). So, wish me luck and don’t tell me to go have a smoke to celebrate being such a good boy. Bastards. I know you were thinking it.

And I’m back to reading with my usual fervor. Currently working my way through Patricia Cornwell’s Blow Fly, Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Unconsoled, Iain M. Banks Excession (yes, again!), The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien, Thief of Time and Moving Pictures by Terry Pratchett, Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote, A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking, William Gibson’s Burning Chrome and Arthur C. Clarke’s, Fountains of Paradise. Currently working on about 3 projects as well so I’m only getting through a book about every two days. Ah, multi-tasking.

As for work, I’m currently creating a job-tracking/accounting package for a small company and working through a couple of packaging design projects for a couple of clients. And yes, I’m getting paid for my efforts. Not much, but it’s early days yet. On a more personal note, I’ve figured it’s about time I got back to sketching, and at least try and make a start on writing. There’s nothing like the end of yet another year to make one evaluate one’s life and then fall into the deep pits of manic depression. So, I’ve decided to do a self portrait to begin with. A full body in three-quarter profile, possibly an anatomical/musculature study for the heck of it. That is a picture with all my skin removed (what better way to showcase my numerous ‘special features’ (some of you know what I mean)), possibly dressed as a Roman legionnaire in leather kilt and battle sandals, holding a gladius. Oh, and I’m also toying with the idea of starting a webcomic. Any suggestions or requests (with offers of money (bribes) and/or sexual favours) to be included in said webcomic? I figure something along the lines of Ctrl-Alt-Del.com, but based on my life and the many insanities I’ve encountered along the way. And plenty of sex, drugs, rock & roll, beer and computer games. Okay, maybe just the computer games. I’m only a nerd after all.

Okay, I’m ranted out. See ya’ll next year.

Leave a Reply

